So you've got two Google Plus personal profiles! You're not alone! But your friends and connections keep circling the one that you do not actually use!

You would like to delete the one you don't use but the guidelines are so confusing you are worried that you might actually lose something important without realising it.

The other option is to make the one you don't use as private as possible so no one can find it. Or, if they do find it, it doesn't look like an active profile.

How to make your Google Plus profile private

google plus profile navigation.pngIf you would like to continue to use Google Plus but control who can view your content, you need to adjust your profile visibility settings. Your full name, profile photo and cover image are automatically set to public by default.

Having said that, you should remember that any posts you have shared will still be seen by the people who you've shared them with and Events that you have responded to will still show your RSVP.

Whilst logged into the account that you want to make private, go to the left hand side of the page and click on the drop down menu by the Home option.

Scroll down to  find Settings. It is in much lighter type below Notifications.

Click on that.

You will be given a page which is all about controlling the settings for your personal profile.

In the General section, there are dropdown options for visibility. Select Only You wherever possible.

In other sections, you have the option to move the blue button to the left to make it grey (inactive)

Scroll down to the section called Profile

google plus profile settings.png

 

How to stop people from being able to search for your profile

Make sure you uncheck the box that says Help others discover my profile in search. See the image above!

I don't want my profile photo or cover image to show to the public

Hover over each image and click to the side of the camera. You are not trying to change your photo.
You want to go through to the larger image of the photo that is currently your profile picture.
At the top of that screen, you will see a dustbin. Click that to delete the photo.

Do this for any photos that might be in the section for profile pictures. You can tell that you are in your profile pictures because it says so at the centre at the bottom of your screen.

Repeat this process for the cover image. The folder name at the centre bottom of your screen is Scrapbook photos.

How to control who sees the other sections of your Google Plus profile

It is possible to choose who sees your information in the various different sections of your profile. So you could make the Links and Basic Information sections available to the public whilst your Work section could be set so that only your Word circle can view it.

Go to your Google Plus profile.the drop down menu on the left hand side by Home.

In the drop down menu, select Profile.

Click the About tab.

Underneath each section of the About tab, you will see the option to Edit.

Click Edit and then select who you want to be able to see the content in that section.

So, for example, you have the choice of

Private

Public

Extended Circles
Your Circles
Custom

If you want to keep it as private as possible, select Private

Make sure you click Save!

Google Plus, Google Plus Local, Google Plus Business Pages and Google Places pages are all forms of local seo that you can use to get your business seen everywhere online.

Download our great guide to using Social Media to find customers for your business


Social Prospecting Workbook