Can I delete my LinkedIn Account?
It's a question I have been asked a few times over the last few months. It's important to establish why a client might want to do this.
There are several reasons why you might want to close, disable or delete a LinkedIn account.
- You have found that you have LinkedIn duplicate accounts and you want to transfer the primary email onto a different account.
- You no longer wish to be on LinkedIn
- You are receiving too many emails from LinkedIn
Too many email notifications on LinkedIn
If your problem is too many emails, you can still keep your account. Instead, go to the Privacy & Settings page and select Communications from the left hand sidebar. There you will see options to reduce emails notifying you about group and other LinkedIn activity.
[cta_primary head="Has your employer banned you from social media?" body="Find out how to delete your accounts" href="/my-employer-has-banned-me-from-social-media"][/cta_primary]
Deleting a LinkedIn account
Things you should consider when considering deleting Linkedin accounts are:
- You will no longer be connected to anyone listed against that LinkedIn account
- You will no longer be visible on LinkedIn
- After a few weeks, your deleted LinkedIn account profile will no longer show up in the search engines
Delete LinkedIn Account
Go to the profile picture at the top right of your screen. It's on the black dashboard.
Click to see a drop down menu. This will offer you the Privacy and Settings option.
Now, on the left hand side, select the Account option. Click that.
On the right hand side, look under Helpful Links.
There you will find Close Your Account. This is the LinkedIn delete account function.
You will be asked to confirm that this is what you want to do.
If you are absolutely sure, then you can click on the link to confirm.
After 48 hours, the account will be deleted and any emails associated with it will be disconnected. You can then enter them as secondary emails on your main account.
How to delete a LinkedIn account when you don't have access to the email used to set up the account
If you no longer have access to the email originally used to set up the account that you want to delete go here.
Find out more about using social media for business